How to Start Running

20111106-171213.jpg

To some, running is not in their vocabulary. For others, it’s just a means to an end – losing those twenty extra pounds or fitting into that bridesmaid dress. And for many it is a way to escape the real world and get into a zone where nothing else matters. No matter what your reason is for not enjoying running, I am here to tell you there are ways to change your views of the strenuous exercise.

If you had asked me two years ago what my favorite workout activity was, it would’ve been the stairmaster hands down. I loved how sweaty I got without having to jog mindlessly on a treadmill watching a muted tv when I could have a book or magazine in front of me on the stairmaster.

Flash forward to July 2011, when I’m running six miles outside by myself. For some avid cross country runners this may seem like nothing, but for me it was one of the biggest accomplishments. Now how did I, an elliptical junkie who could barely run 20 minutes a few days a week, achieve this? Three easy steps:

1. Grab a Running Buddy!
Meeting Jackie was the best thing that could have happened to my exercise routine. She showed me that running went by a lot faster when you had someone to talk to throughout. Not only do we push each other to go further, but having our running date set each week motivates me to run on that date as well as other days in the week, not wanting to slow her down because I slacked off.

2. Download Upbeat Music
Everyone has different taste of music, but I can tell you what works for me. Before, I was listening to various upbeat music: Black Eyed Peas, Britney Spears, Kanye, All American Rejects – pretty much anything that made it into the Top 40 in the past 8 years. But when friends introduced me to house music, I realized what my workouts were missing. Avicii, Tiesto, Afrojack, Laidback Luke – they all have the most amazing beats behind their sets that make you want to keep moving. The easiest way to check out this style is to download Tiesto’s Club Life podcast on iTunes for free!

3. Reduce Alcohol Consumption
Alcohol can harm your workout plan in many ways. Not only does it quickly add up in calorie consumption, but it increases your appetite, causing you to consume more than you would on a regular occasion. The after effects of alcohol can include depression, sluggishness, and a gnarly hangover as well, causing your workout to be less stimulating than normal, or for it to be cancelled all together.

These are steps that worked for me – they are not necessarily going to work for everyone. But if you have the desire to add running into your routine, I would give it a try! Worst that happens is you get a couple runs in 🙂

Xoxo
Mitzy

1 Comment »

  1. L-Jay Health Said:

    this is a awesome post on starting running. Having a running partner really helps.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment