I’m Walkin’ on Sunshine

Sunny days make my heart smile =). Although I am sad that seemingly every weekend I visit San Luis Obispo it gets cold – even after a week of sunniness!

It’s been five days since I graduated culinary school, and in order to not lose my skills I have been trying to cook for myself – which is hard after a day of bike riding, packing, or hanging out with friends. However today I decided to go big and bake banana bread, chocolate chip cookies, and some cold potato leek soup.

Since I was already experimenting with the soup and cookies, I decided to change things up a bit with the bread as well. Banana bread

is something that is sort of a specialty of mine so I switch things up now and then. Today I decided I was going to use the uber delicious banana muffin recipe I had as a bread. It turned out delicious but super fluffy (which made it hard to slice off the loaf). Now to figure out how to fix that… Too bad I only majored in food science.

So now it’s off to Long Beach, LA, and San Luis Obispo for the rest of the week to hang out with some of my favorite people in the world!

❤ Mitzy

 

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies

9 oz butter, room temperature

6 oz sugar

6 oz light brown sugar

– Cream above three ingredients together

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

— Add egg and vanilla to creamed butter and sugars

13 oz flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

— Mix dry ingredients and add to remaining batter

– Add 12 oz dark chocolate chips and (optional) 6oz chopped walnuts

Place dollops on greased cookie sheets, preferrably on parchment paper

Cook at 375 for 9 minutes – they should come out soft

Remove from sheet tray immediately but let cool before placing in air-tight container

Leave a Reply

