Movie Review: Beastly

So after waiting a year, I finally saw Beastly! When I first saw the preview early last year, I thought the story line looked great, the main character was hot, and I love Neil Patrick Harris. Then when July came and went without a movie release, I was stumped and bummed. While I still don’t know why it released so late, I was happy to finally find someone who wanted to go see it!

Critics gave it less than 30% on Rotten Tomatoes, viewers about double that. I would probably give it a B-. Not something I would buy on DVD, but would definitely watch it when it airs on TV.

The premise of the movie is a twist on the classic “Beauty and the Beast. A ridiculously arrogant, yet attractive, high school boy is rude to the “witch” of the school who curses him with a face covered in scars and tattoos, making him a beast. He has one year to find someone who loves him for who is on the inside or he will “stay like this foreverrr” (imagine that being said in a really weird and creepy whisper). Through a series of events, the beauty ends up living with the beast, learning things that he hasn’t let anyone else see before.

I would recommend the movie for girls my age or moms who love movies like 13 Going on 30. It’s not one to take your boyfriend to, unless he loves Vanessa Hudgens or you’re just really mad at him. haha.

Let me know if you’ve seen it or if you do!

xoxo

Mitz

 

p.s. enter to win on Janette Rallison’s blog – and check out her books!

http://janette-rallison.blogspot.com/2011/03/book-day-give-away-fairy-countdown.html

Leave a Reply

